The Lord Uses You Where You Are…

Emergency Room

Recently I was very sick. I came down with a virus/cold, which had been going around. It first started in my head and then it worked its way down into my lungs. Years prior to this current illness, I had been diagnosed with Asthma. Once this virus/cold reached my lungs, it felt as if my lungs were on fire. My breathing became a lot harder to control. By the late evening hours my inhaler and nebulizer were not stabilizing my breathing. I was needing to take a large gasp of air for each word I spoke. I phoned someone for prayer and they prayed for me, but also suggested that I go to the emergency room. Now, I am not one to like going to the hospital, emergency room, or even a routine doctor visit. Reluctantly, I promised them I would go. My husband left his job early to take me off to the emergency room.
Once I was at the emergency room they gave me many things to try in order to stabilize my breathing back to a somewhat normal state. Unfortunately they could not get my breathing to where they would have liked to see it, after all the treatments and medications. This is where they admitted me for overnight care. I experienced a lot of firsts during my hospital stay; oxygen in the nose, IV, overnight stay, potassium through an IV, and many other interesting things.
While I was being treated in the hospital for my conditions, there were other things happening around me. I was able to tell people that I was a Christian and my tattoos were part of a past life which I no longer live. People also noticed that I had a Bible and me reading of the scriptures therein. On the day of my discharge, my departure was delayed. Before I left, I had another opportunity to talk with someone about God, angels, and eternal life.
Even though I was being treated for an illness, God was able to use me and shine His light through me. It does not matter what circumstances we are facing or what situations we are placed in, God can use us no matter where we are at. Just when you think no one notices your actions or behaviors, they do. People see how you live your life, choices you make, how you deal with situations, and the little things that we ourselves do not even notice.
If you are going through a tough time, ill, or have your own battles to face, just remember God can use you wherever you may be and whatever state which you are in. Also everything that you do throughout your life, someone sees and it touches their lives as well. Even if you do not speak a word, your own actions and behaviors speak louder than any voice could ever project.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Lord Uses You Where You Are…

  1. pastorross12 September 8, 2012 at 6:42 PM Reply

    Great post. We don’t know what today will hold but we do know that “all things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to His purpose”. Hope you are feeling a lot better now. Praying for God’s healing hand to touch you. Thanks for this great reminder.

    Like

    • [JH] September 8, 2012 at 6:48 PM

      I agree! The experience was a little scary for me, but I knew that God was there with me. Of course, I had no idea that God had plans on using me in my situation. I love to be used by God, it makes me feel joyful inside. I am able to breathe now, God has been opening up many doors for me and my husband. Watching God work is so amazing, I am always left in awe of His work and how He has planned it out.

      Like

Place Your Thoughts Here:

