What Does the Future Hold

The Earth seen from Apollo 17.

I had many thoughts floating through my mind today on what to write, but nothing concrete. One of the thoughts I had was regarding the changes that have occurred in society since the time I was young. Of course when I say young, I am talking about four decades back (it sounds so long ago to say it). With age comes wisdom, right?!

When I was young, there was less paranoia and caution taken regarding security and the safety of family. Doors to homes were left unlocked, as well as vehicles unlocked. There were no security guards, metal detectors, or children with guns at the school. At most, a child may worry about being beat up by another student, which would only consist of fists (no weapons). You never heard of parents killing their children or children killing their parents. You also never heard of robberies happening during the day time. There was also a lot more respect from children towards their parents (or maybe just fear of being punished). Although, there were still the same problems with tobacco, drugs and alcohol among young adults.

Looking at everything as a whole, it seems like things have gotten a lot worse. And as far as the Bible tells us, it is not going to get much better. In fact, as time goes on, it will probably get a lot worse. You may think that I am just thinking negatively, but I truly believe this is the way things are headed. More violence, disrespect, thievery, crimes, murder, and the list goes on.

Now that is where my thoughts started out, and the following is what (I believe) God showed me:

“Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.” -Revelation 3:20 [KJV]

“I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture.” -John 10:9 [KJV]

“And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” -John 8:32 [KJV]

“The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” -John 10:10 [KJV]

“For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many.” –Matthew 24:5 [KJV]

“Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live:
And whosoever liveth and believeth in me shall never die. Believest thou this?” –John 11:25-26 [KJV]

“He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.” -John 12:25 [KJV]

“And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet.
For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.” -Matthew 24:6-7 [KJV]

“And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many.
And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.” -Matthew 24:11-12 [KJV]

“While ye have light, believe in the light, that ye may be the children of light. These things spake Jesus, and departed, and did hid himself from them.” -John 12:36 [KJV]

“I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.” -John 12:46 [KJV]

There is one thought that always comes to my mind when thinking about the future. That thought is how many people do not seriously think about what the future may hold for them and how close their future may be.

How many people out there have thought they had many years to live, only to be gone the next day? How many people tell themselves, this world is just going through a tough spot…it will get better soon? How many people do not even consider the thought of an eternal life, whether it is in Heaven or Hell?

You may wonder, why should I be thinking about the thoughts that are in the minds of other people for their own future. Because I am concerned that people do not know the truth and they will be blindly walking their way into eternal torture and punishment. The love and caring that I have in my heart is not from the world, it has been placed there by God. God cares for each and every one of you, He does not want to see one soul end up in Hell. He would like to see all of the people in this world go to Heaven and experience the wonderful life He has planned.

“The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.
But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.” –2 Peter 3:9-10 [KJV] 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What Does the Future Hold

  1. […] What Does the Future Hold (jhanewich.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Place Your Thoughts Here:

