Tattoos

Tattoo in progress

Tattoos are a subject which can be looked at as being a very delicate subject, especially where in today’s society it is very much accepted for both men and women to have them and to have them in areas where they can be seen. The act of having a tattoo has become so natural and an every day thing, that even some businesses do not mind their employees having tattoos. Of course there are still people that put stereotypes on those who have them and automatically sum up one’s character from the ink on their body. These are not people that see a person being intelligent, a business person, and full of morals that have a visible tattoo, in fact they see them as quite the opposite “Trouble” and “Untrustworthy”.

Now, I am not here to judge people who have tattoos or to judge those who do not have tattoos. I am merely stating what I have experienced, observed, and heard…and sharing thoughts that I have had and things which have been shown to me.

My journey with God has a lot of stories attached to it…and to tell it all would take a book in itself just to travel into. There was a period of time which I was hiding from and trying to avoid God. I was angry, had many questions of why, and felt very upset with Him for the way some events had gone in my life. Yes, what I did was not the right thing…my heart had grown hard and I had become very stiff-necked against God. I was doing things that were the complete opposite of God…almost like proving that I was no longer going to follow Him…I could not speak lies of God though, because I still knew the truth…the truth was always with me, no matter how hard I tried to bury it and extinguish it. Anyway, getting more to the point…one of the things that I did was get many tattoos…it started out as one tattoo ( I am sure that others who have tattoos know what I mean when I say “it started out as one”). Overall, if they were counted individually, I probably would have around 25 tattoos (some are small and included in larger pieces).

After God called me back to Him and I finally answered…(I heard His call more than once, before I answered and came to Him). I committed a sin which I thought was unforgivable (that is another story all its own). I read the Bible daily and could not seem to get enough of it…  Then it happened, One day as I was reading His Awesome Word, a verse popped out at me and spoke to me…I had never recalled seeing this in the Bible before (I had read the Bible many times before in my life) the verse was;

“Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you: I am the LORD.” –Leviticus 19:28 [KJV]

Now, what this verse spoke to me was that I was not to put tattoos upon my body. I could no longer do what I had been doing, as far as tattoos. I was new again in my walk with God, once I answered His call, I was disgraced at the tattoos that were on my body and had wished that they were never there.

This is what Dake’s Annotated Reference Bible
has to say about verse 28 of Leviticus chapter 19;

“Many people were very violent both in mourning and worship of idols, tearing the hair, scratching and cutting the flesh… (Dake, 2011, p. 228 OT)”
Tattooing was practiced in various pagan nations from the earliest times, as well as markings with all kinds of paint and cuttings on the flesh. These were connected with superstition, and any disfiguration of the body was an outrage to God and an insult to Him who designed the body originally. Hence, the law here… (Dake, 2011, p. 228 OT)”

These writings from Dake’s and scriptures confirmed to me that I should definitely never get another tattoo. As my walk with God has progressed, there is something in the back of my mind that now wants to finish off my tattoos and get tattooed again. I know this is not of God, because of what God’s word says and who God is. Rather this comes from my past desires and the enemy’s attempt at temptation to bring it into my mind. Therefore, I must stand on God’s Word in this and remain strong.

This is another verse which spoke to me, confirming what our bodies are to God and what they should be to us;

“Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you? If any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy; for the temple of God is holy, which temple ye are.” –1 Corinthians 3:16-17 [KJV]

This verse shows me that I should treat my body with respect and keep it pure. An image comes to my mind right now,  of an immaculate temple with white stone all throughout. Now would we take a spray can and spray all kinds of stuff over the walls… worldly symbols, writings, and such…furthermore, would we take a pickaxe and run it along side the walls, floors, and ceiling allowing it to dig in and create gouges and deep cracks…How about take it a step further and dumping blood and mud upon  every part of  the temple inside and out? Now another note about the white stone temple…God is the owner of this temple. Could we do this to His immaculate white stone temple? If not, how can we and why do we do this same thing to our bodies, which are the temples of God?

Reference:

Dake, F.J.(2011).Dake’s annotated reference bible (9th Printing).Lawrenceville, GA: Dake Publishing, Inc.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Place Your Thoughts Here:

