Eternal Life

Two Paths

I have experienced many asthma attacks, some minor and some that felt like I was being suffocated (grabbing at my throat for air while  choking). When the minor everyday attacks occur I find them unpleasant, not being able to receive full airflow, hearing a constant wheeze or crackle, and feeling like someone is sitting upon my chest. I go for my inhaler and it usually provides the relief I need after about 2-4 puffs…depending upon how full the inhaler is at that time. There are also times when I ignore the symptoms, either because I am deeply involved in a task or I am sleeping and do not want to wake up (it is hard getting back to sleep). When I ignore the symptoms, of course they become worse…the inhaler may be able to relieve it or I may have to use a nebulizer. My asthma attacks can either come on suddenly without any obvious stimuli, from laughing, after eating, liquid going down the wrong pipe, cold, or laying on my back. There was a time that I had a bad attack and I was away from home with my husband. He drove frantically through traffic to get back to our home as soon as possible, while I was clutching at my throat, choking, coughing like my head and face were going to explode and my eyes were going to pop out of my head, and desperately trying to get air into my lungs. I thought I was going to feel the full experience of suffocating and then die. It was extremely scary for both me and my husband. I have had other times when my attacks were this bad and the same question always comes up…is this my time?…is my life ending today?

You may be wondering, “What does asthma attacks have to do with eternal life?”. A lot of  people believe that there is eternal life, which is in Heaven. Actually, if you think about it…there is more than one eternal life, but only one can be chosen. There is the eternal life in Heaven with Jesus Christ our Lord and Saviour and then there is the eternal life in the lake of fire with Satan and his followers. …And yes, we actually do have a choice as to where we would like to spend eternity, but we must make that choice before we die. One of these choices is a default choice, for if a person does not choose either one…the destination ends up being eternal life in the lake of fire. If you are wondering what hell may be like, the book 23 Minutes in Hell by Bill Wiese

gives a good idea of what to expect. I do not know what your choice would be, but I know I would rather be rejoicing and praising God in Heaven than be tormented  in hell and the Lake of fire for all eternity. How this relates to my asthma attacks is that one day…could be the day my choice becomes complete. Can you imagine yourself on a game show where they tell you the prizes behind the door, you just have to choose which prize you want…pick door #1 and you will receive a trip to spend eternity in a beautiful place full of love, peace, and joy…there is no want for anything there and there are no more tears or pain or pick door #2 and you will receive a trip to spend eternity in a holding cell where you will be tormented day and night, no love, no joy, no peace, and no dying…just pain, darkness, fear, alone except for the tormentors. Then shipped off to the second half of the eternal trip to the nearby lake of fire…which consists of more pain, torment, no sleeping, no rest, day and night. What door have you chosen today?

“And the beast was taken, and with him the false prophet that wrought miracles before him, with which he deceived them that had received the mark of the beast, and them that worshipped his image, These both were cast alive into a lake of fire burning with brimstone.” -Revelation 19:20 [KJV]

“And the devil that deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone, where the beast and false prophet are, and shall be tormented day and night for ever and ever. And I saw a great white throne, and him that sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away; and there was found no place for them. And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of these things which were written in the books, according to their works. And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them: and they were judged every man according to their works. And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.” -Revelation 20:10-15 [KJV]

“He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son. But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death.” -Revelation 21:7-8 [KJV]

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” -Ephesians 2:8 [KJV]

“And when he was gone forth into the way, there came one running, and kneeled to him, and asked him, Good Master, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life?” -Mark 10:17 [KJV]

“Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Defraud not, Honour thy father and mother.” -Mark 10:19 [KJV]

“And, behold, a certain lawyer stood up, and tempted him saying, Master, What shall I do to inherit eternal life? He said unto him, what is written in the law? how readest thou? And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbor as thyself. And he said unto him, thou hast answered right: this do, and thou shalt live.” -Luke 10:25-28 [KJV]

“That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved. He that believeth on him is not condemned: be he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.” -John 3:15-18 [KJV]

“And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.” -John 10:28 [KJV]

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Eternal Life

  1. […] Eternal Life (jhanewich.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged Book of Deuteronomy, Directions, God, Great Commandment, Instructions, Jesus, Kingdom of Heaven, Matthew, You shall not murder.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

    Like

  2. […] Eternal Life (jhanewich.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged Bible, Christ, Christian, Future, Gospel of Matthew, John, Matthew, Salvation.Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

    Like

  3. pastorross12 May 25, 2012 at 9:37 PM Reply

    Thanks. Just thinking about 2 paths – one to life and one to death, from Matthew 7:13-14. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • [J] May 30, 2012 at 12:22 PM

      Thank you Pastor Ross! I love the way God works!!!

      Like

  4. Jason Ministries May 8, 2012 at 6:22 PM Reply

    Praying for you and your asthma. Enjoyed your post. 🙂

    Like

    • [J] May 8, 2012 at 8:08 PM

      Thank you very much! May God bless you and secure your path!

      Like

    • [J] May 30, 2012 at 12:24 PM

      Thank you Jason Ministries!

      Like

    • Jason Ministries May 30, 2012 at 5:29 PM

      Anytime. 🙂 You are very welcome.

      Like

Place Your Thoughts Here:

